What they don’t tell you…..

When I became a mother I knew that I’d always be being interrupted and invaded whilst on the toilet. I’d seen it happen to my mother.

And, I knew that  there would be times when I would be pinned to the couch by children ill and sad and needing to be held. It was to be expected.

But what I didn’t know-

And what nobody told me-

Was that in the shower the sounds of  the water, the pipes and the steam would mingle to mimic the muffled noise of a baby crying two rooms away.

So that you could never, really ever, switch off.

2 Comments

  1. I used to wake up in the night when the neighbor’s baby cried. I started sleeping with the window closed.

Leave a Reply

