Lily and Lilly

I:

My Sister has had a love affair with Berlin since she was 16.

Sometimes I feel she’s living the life I was supposed to have.

Not necessarily Berlin but Uni and traveling and all that that entails.

But I didn’t get my shit together,

paths diverged and

ultimately

I was too monetarily lazy.

II:
One of the things I am most grateful to Facebook for

Is the friendship I made with Lily Mae Martin

and now that she is back in Australia

I am sooooooo looking forward to the mildly nerve wracking

first face to face meeting.

I have never been on a blind date.

III:

Whilst they were both in Berlin they met up.

My Sister and The Artist

Lilly was photographed by Lily.

Lilly was painted by Lily.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now my sister is a very pretty girl with soft features and pale skin and

A sometimes pensive expression.

It is that expression,

the pensive one,

where I imagine my sister’s thoughts occurring at the back of her mind

It’s a part of herself she doesn’t share with everyone.

At least not intentionally.

It’s the outside face of

A piece of private self.

And that is why I like these portraits.

IV:

From the Artist’s point of view this is a time when Lily Mae

shifted her relationship

with her brush and

began exploring less tight taut perfect strokes.

V:

I enjoy that intersection

A sister’s private places meet an artist loosening her grip.

Also,

Also, this little union causes my brain creating the most wonderful soundtrack.

Thank you to The Who, because they are right

PICTURES OF LILLY MAKE ME FEEL SO WONDERFUL

please note All the photos are from Lily Mae Martin’s blog

3 Comments

  1. I’m really touched Amelia – thank you. xx

  2. Reblogged this on Berlin Domestic and commented:
    A post about two paintings I did of a young woman named Lilly, this is written by her sister – Amelia Carson.

  1. […] One of the responses to the portraits of my sister Lillian, by Lily Mae […]

Leave a Reply

