Poetic

So I’m interested in Digital Poetry, yes.

Have you seen
Google Poetic?
I gotta say, and

(I feel sheepish as I do)

It’s my favourite form of contemporary poetry:

tumblr_mjnjra5YqL1rjggr6o1_500 tumblr_mjqdbr8IYj1rjggr6o1_500 tumblr_mjmh7w2iK41rjggr6o1_500
irreverent,
accidental,
opportunistic,
accessible,
uncanny,
uncomfortable,
and at times,
heart wrenchingly telling.

It also begs a swag
of somewhat uncomfortable
googly questions…

Did anyone anticipate the influence

the reliance

the power

of a search engine?

But

I’ll contemplate those questions another day.
I already know one answer will be
“Meh, so I’m a product of times”

And another will just be
“Meh.”

So, in the thinking of google.
l finally searched the words
Digital
Poetry

I found Jason Nelson

My instinct is to sneer at any discipline that claims it is THE future.
But this form is
A future.
And

That is exciting.

My favourite of Nelson’s strange poetic/art immersion is
GAME.gamesite1

His works are witty fun, surreal, cerebral adventures

That I strongly recommend you check out

Modern Conceptual Art in your living room

But

They don’t hit the poetic mark for me.

They lack subtlety.

Are they are too noisy and crowded for meaning?
Too engrossed in their medium?
Too Obvious?

not sure …

I enjoy poetry that skewers

the heart
the eye
and
the mind

Personally.

Anything less can be appreciated

admired
and
respected

but not loved.

still what a fucken AWESOME start Mr Nelson.

And the possibilities my friends.

That is exciting.

Leave a Reply

